Building project

The Bauhaus was only given its permanent place in Weimar’s rich commemorative landscape in 1995: a makeshift Bauhaus Museum was set up in the former museum of art on the Theaterplatz, which to date only presents a small selection of the extensive Weimar Bauhaus collection. The museum neither has enough space for the numerous Bauhaus objects, nor does it meet today’s museological and restorative requirements.

In 2008 the German Federation and the Land Thuringia commissioned the Klassik Stiftung Weimar with the building of a new Bauhaus Museum. Following an international architectural competition, construction began in November 2015. The bauhaus museum weimar will be inaugurated during the Bauhaus centenary 2019.

Function: Exhibition spaces and rooms for pedagogical activities, visitor service, shop, lounge and café
Exhibition space: 2,250 m²
Costs: 22.6 million euros
Construction period: 2015 until end 2018

Architecture

In the international architectural competition for the bauhaus museum weimar the winning design by Prof. Heike Hanada, Berlin, in cooperation with Prof. Benedict Tonon was chosen from more than 500 contestants.

The geometrically clear architecture – a minimalistic glass cube set over a concrete base – includes five levels that converge in two-storied open spaces. Visitors can access the museum from two sides: from the city level via a generous entrance hall – or from the adjacent Weimarhallenpark via a large terrace on the ground floor.

Front gate and forecourt, Visualization: bloomimages GmbH

Front gate and forecourt, Visualization: bloomimages GmbH

The façade is characterised by narrow panels of opaque, frosted glass. They float freely without a frame and form a regular horizontal rhythm which is superimposed by a linear grid of fine black lines which refract unevenly. Horizontal light strips around the body of the structure provide illumination at nighttime.

The entrance hall is the starting point for all the main paths in the museum. Visitors quickly gain orientation by means of a cascading staircase placed within a cleverly structured coordinate system. Thanks to horizontal and diagonal lines of view in relation to the adjacent open spaces, the functions of the individual areas are immediately discernible. The floor and walls of the hall correspond with the materiality and haptic quality of the exterior concrete base of the museum.

Foyer, design by Prof. Heike Hanada with Prof. Benedict Tonon

Foyer, design by Prof. Heike Hanada with Prof. Benedict Tonon

Three questions for Prof. Heike Hanada, laboratory for art and architecture, Berlin

An Unconventional Stance between Tradition and Modernity

Ms. Hanada, do you see yourself and your architectural design of the museum in the tradition of the Bauhaus?
The words “tradition” and “Bauhaus” are contradictory in my opinion. The Bauhaus was an anti-traditional movement. It always sought to be avant-garde and modernist. In that sense, it’s not really possible to adhere to the tradition of the Bauhaus. It’s debatable whether we are still capable of assuming an avant-garde position similar to that at the beginning of the 20th century. What is more urgent, I think, is to overcome the failure of modernity, and based on this awareness, develop a contemporary architecture which takes an unconventional stance between tradition and modernity.

What is the central idea of your design?
Basically, it’s two ideas which complement each other in terms of urban planning and interior design, and which are strongly linked to the topography of the location. The museum is tucked into the slope of the Weimarhallenpark, and thereby marks the rupture in the terrain where backfill was laid for the construction of the National Socialist “Gauforum”. The museum connects the park and city levels via stairways which traverse the interior and exterior areas. The interior stairs run through the entire building, connecting the open two-story inner foyer with a cascading staircase. The tour culminates in a “stairway to heaven” which takes one back from the third storey to the ground floor. My aim was to create surprising visual relationships which would guide visitors through the building, similar to the diagonal views that cut across the Park on the Ilm.

What do you wish for the bauhaus museum in the future?
That it doesn’t become a conventional museum in the classical sense, but rather like a workshop where the guests, inhabitants and universities of Weimar can gather and work together with the museum. That’s why the design is less representative in the sense of a classical art museum; it’s supposed to possess a workshop-like character. This can be seen, for example, in the rather rough concrete surfaces reminiscent of old industrial halls. The museum shouldn’t only be a place for reflection, but should also offer visitors a chance to play an active role themselves.

Prof. Heike Hanada

Prof. Heike Hanada

Location – a modernist area for Weimar

The bauhaus museum weimar is being built at the edge of the Weimarhallenpark, directly opposite the former »Weimar Gauforum«. The urban and historically significant location of the new building offers a unique possibility to attractively develop the district between the Goetheplatz, Nordvorstadt and the Bahnhofsviertel (area around the station) and to give it a cultural perspective.

Terrace, Visualization: bloomimages GmbH

Terrace, Visualization: bloomimages GmbH

Front gate and forecourt by night, Visualization: bloomimages GmbH

Front gate and forecourt by night, Visualization: bloomimages GmbH

Westansicht, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Westansicht, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Three time periods of modernism converge in a historically unique way in a focal point of sorts at the new Bauhaus museum: the so-called green, cultural and sports axis to the west of the new building as a large »cultural project« of the Weimar Republic, the monumental architecture of the »Gauforum« from the Nazi period as well as the ensuing handling of the existing architectural testimonies by the GDR including urban planning under a socialist banner.

The bauhaus museum weimar offers the perspective to create a lively cultural district spanning the period of the late 19th century, the ambivalent history of modernism, down to the present day. It will also be one of the most important strategic points in the »topography of modernism« – a network connecting both historical and memorial sites all over Weimar.

Competition

The Klassik Stiftung and city of Weimar launched an architectural competition for the establishment of the bauhaus museum weimar in 2011. A total of 536 architecture offices submitted their proposals.

The international jury, chaired by Prof. Jörg Friedrich (Hamburg), consisted of 17 members who were supported by a panel of twelve independent experts. The competition was supervised by Schubert/Horst Architekten, Dresden.

On 15 March 2012 the jury awarded second prizes to Johann Bierkandt (Landau) and the architects HKR (Klaus Krauss and Rolf Kursawe, Cologne). Two third prizes were awarded to Prof. Heike Hanada with Prof. Benedict Tonon (Berlin) and Bube/ Daniela Bergmann (Rotterdam).

The jury awarded three honourable mentions for the proposals submitted by Karl Hufnagel Architekten (Berlin), hks Hestermann Rommel Architekten und Gesamtplaner GmbH (Erfurt) and menomenopiu architectures/Alessandro Balducci (Rome).

In the subsequent procurement procedure for freelance services (VOF-procedure), the design concept by the Berlin-based architect Prof. Heike Hanada with Prof. Benedict Tonon received final approval.

Bauvorhaben

Erst 1995 bekam das Bauhaus innerhalb der reichen Erinnerungslandschaft Weimars seinen ständigen Platz: In der ehemaligen Kunsthalle am Theaterplatz wurde ein provisorisches Bauhaus-Museum eingerichtet, das bis heute nur einen kleinen Ausschnitt der reichen Weimarer Bauhaus-Sammlung präsentiert. Das Haus bietet weder Raum für die zeitgemäße Präsentation der zahlreichen Bauhaus-Objekte, noch genügt es den heutigen museologischen und restauratorischen Anforderungen.

Im Jahr 2008 haben der Bund und das Land Thüringen die Klassik Stiftung Weimar mit dem Bau eines neuen Bauhaus-Museums beauftragt. Nach einem internationalen Architekturwettbewerb hat der Bau im November 2015 begonnen. Zum Bauhaus-Jahr 2019 wird das bauhaus museum weimar eröffnen.

Im Bautagebuch und mit Hilfe der Webcam, die sich auf dem Technikturm der Weimarhalle befindet, können Sie bauliche Fortschritte verfolgen.

Funktion: Ausstellungsflächen und Räume für die Vermittlungsarbeit, Besucherservice, Shop, Lounge und Café
Ausstellungsfläche: 2.250 m²
Gesamtkosten: 22,6 Mio. Euro
Bauzeitraum: 2015 bis Ende 2018

Architektur

Im internationalen Architekturwettbewerb für das bauhaus museum weimar hat sich 2012 der Museumsentwurf von Prof. Heike Hanada, Berlin, in Kooperation mit Prof. Benedict Tonon, Berlin, unter mehr als 500 Wettbewerbsteilnehmern durchgesetzt.

Die geometrisch klare Architektur – ein minimalistischer Glaskubus über einem Betonsockel – sieht fünf Ebenen vor, die in zweigeschossigen offenen Räumen ineinander übergehen. Besucher erreichen den künftigen Museumsrundgang von der Stadtseite her über ein großzügiges Foyer – oder aber vom angrenzenden Weimarhallenpark aus über eine große Terrasse im Untergeschoss.

Eingangsportal mit Museumsvorplatz, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Eingangsportal mit Museumsvorplatz, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Schmale, opak satinierte Glasstreifen prägen die Fassade des Baus. Sie schweben frei ohne Rahmung und bilden einen regelmäßigen horizontalen Rhythmus, den lineare Raster aus feinen schwarzen Linien überlagern und unregelmäßig brechen. Umlaufende Lichtbänder ermöglichen die nächtliche Beleuchtung der Fassade.

Die Eingangshalle ist der Ausgangspunkt für alle entscheidenden Wege im Inneren des Museums. Der Besucher orientiert sich mit Hilfe der Kaskadentreppen in einem geschickt gesetzten Koordinatensystem. Durch horizontale und diagonale Blickbeziehungen in die angrenzenden Lufträume wird er auf die einzelnen Funktionsbereiche aufmerksam. Der Fußboden und die Wände, die die Halle umgeben, entsprechen in Materialität und Haptik dem äußeren steinernen Betonsockel des Museums.

Foyer mit Panoramafenster nach Westen, Entwurf von Prof. Heike Hanada

Foyer mit Panoramafenster nach Westen, Entwurf von Prof. Heike Hanada

3 Fragen an Prof. Heike Hanada, laboratory for art and architecture, Berlin

Eine unkonventionelle Haltung zwischen Tradition und Moderne

Frau Hanada, sehen Sie sich und Ihre Architektur für den Museumsbau in der Tradition des Bauhauses?
Die Begriffe »Tradition« und »Bauhaus« widersprechen sich meiner Ansicht nach. Das Bauhaus war eine antitraditionelle Bewegung. Es wollte immer die Avantgarde, das Moderne sein. Insofern kann man sich eigentlich nicht in der Tradition des Bauhauses bewegen. Ob wir heute eine vergleichbare avantgardistische Haltung wie zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts einzunehmen verstehen, mag dahingestellt sein. Persönlich halte ich es für dringlicher, das Scheitern der Moderne zu überwinden und aus diesem Bewusstsein heraus eine zeitgenössische Architektur zu entwickeln, die eine unkonventionelle Haltung zwischen Tradition und Moderne einnimmt.

Was ist die zentrale Idee Ihres Entwurfs?
Im Grunde genommen sind es zwei Ideen die sich städtebaulich und innenräumlich ergänzen und sehr stark mit der Topographie des Ortes zusammenhängen. Das Museum 
ist in den Hang des Weimarhallenparks geschoben und markiert so den Bruch, den die Aufschüttung des gesamten Geländes für den Bau des nationalsozialistischen »Gauforums« in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft verursachte. Das Museum verbindet die Park- und die Stadtebene über Treppenanlagen, sowohl im Innen- als auch im Außenbereich. Die Treppenbewegung zieht sich im Inneren durch das gesamte Gebäude, in dem die doppelgeschossigen Lufträume jeweils mit einer Kaskadentreppe verbunden sind. Der Rundgang mündet in einer Himmelsleiter, die vom 3. Obergeschoss zurück ins Erdgeschoss führt. Mir geht es um überraschende Blickbeziehungen, die die Besucher durch das Haus leiten, vergleichbar den diagonalen Blickachsen im nahegelegenen Park an der Ilm.

Was wünschen Sie dem bauhaus museum für die Zukunft?
Dass es nicht so sehr ein Museum im klassischen Sinne sein wird, sondern vielmehr eine Werkstatt, in der sich die Gäste, die Bevölkerung und die Hochschulen Weimars wiederfinden und mit dem Haus arbeiten. Deshalb ist die Ausgestaltung weniger repräsentativ im Sinne einer klassischen Kunsthalle, sondern soll einen Werkstattcharakter vermitteln. Das lässt sich beispielsweise an den eher rauen Betondecken ablesen, die an alte Industriehallen erinnern. Das Museum soll nicht nur ein Ort der Reflexion, sondern auch des Selbst-Tätig-Werdens sein.

Prof. Heike Hanada

Prof. Heike Hanada

Standort – Ein Quartier der Moderne für Weimar

Das bauhaus museum weimar entsteht am Rand des Weimarhallenparks direkt gegenüber dem ehemaligen »Weimarer Gauforum«. Die städtebaulich und historisch sensible Lage des Neubaus bietet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, das Quartier zwischen Goetheplatz, Nordvorstadt und Bahnhofsviertel attraktiv zu entwickeln und ihm eine kulturelle Perspektive zu geben.

Parkterrasse, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Parkterrasse, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Eingangsportal mit Museumsvorplatz bei Nacht, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Eingangsportal mit Museumsvorplatz bei Nacht, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Westansicht, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Westansicht, Visualisierung: bloomimages GmbH

Drei Zeitschichten der Moderne in Weimar treffen am Standort des neuen Museums auf historisch einmalige Weise in einer Art Brennpunkt aufeinander: die Grün-, Kultur- und Sportachse westlich des Neubaus als »Kultur-Projekt« der Weimarer Republik, das nationalsozialistische Staatsprojekt »Gauforum«, das zugleich das logistische Zentrum der europäischen Zwangsarbeit war, und die unübersehbare Antwort aus der DDR-Zeit auf dieses Gebiet, der »Langen Jakob«.

Gemeinsam mit dem bauhaus museum weimar entsteht perspektivisch ein lebendiges Museumsquartier, das den Bogen vom ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert über die ambivalente Historie der Moderne bis zur Gegenwart spannt. Diese »Topographie der Moderne« mit dem bauhaus museum weimar als Knotenpunkt wird historische Stätten und Erinnerungsorte der Moderne in ganz Weimar miteinander verbinden.

Wettbewerb

Zur Errichtung des bauhaus museums weimar führten die Klassik Stiftung und die Stadt Weimar 2011 einen weltweit offenen Architekturwettbewerb durch. Insgesamt 536 Architekturbüros reichten ihre Beiträge ein.

Dem international besetzten Preisgericht unter Vorsitz von Prof. Jörg Friedrich (Hamburg) gehörten siebzehn Preisrichter an, denen zwölf sachverständige Berater zur Seite standen. Die Wettbewerbsbetreuung erfolgte durch Schubert/Horst Architekten, Dresden.

Am 15. März 2012 vergab das Preisgericht jeweils einen zweiten Preis an Johann Bierkandt (Landau) und die Architekten HKR (Klaus Krauss und Rolf Kursawe, Köln). Die beiden dritten Preise gingen an Prof. Heike Hanada mit Prof. Benedict Tonon (Berlin) und Bube/Daniela Bergmann (Rotterdam).

Drei Anerkennungen vergab das Preisgericht für die Entwürfe von Karl Hufnagel Architekten (Berlin), hks Hestermann Rommel Architekten und Gesamtplaner GmbH (Erfurt) und menomenopiu architectures/Alessandro Balducci (Rom).

Im anschließenden VOF-Verfahren setze sich der Entwurf der Berliner Architektin Prof. Heike Hanada mit Prof. Benedict Tonon durch.

Ansicht längs, Siegerentwurf von Prof. Heike Hanada mit Prof. Benedict Tonon

Ansicht längs, Siegerentwurf von Prof. Heike Hanada mit Prof. Benedict Tonon